Safeguarding at our school

The schools Designated Safeguarding Lead is Mrs Claire Elliott 

The deputy DSL’s in school are Mrs Heather Creighton and Mrs Rachel Lissaman.

Church Hill Infant School fully recognises the contribution it can make to protect children and support them in school. Pupil welfare is of paramount importance, therefore safeguarding our pupils is the priority of Bradgate Education Partnership and Church Hill Infant School. This is reflected throughout Trust and school policies and is embedded into school life.

Our Safeguarding and  Child Protection Policy can be found in the Policy section of the website alongside our Behaviour and Anti-Bullying Policy too.

If you would like to discuss any concerns about your child, then please do contact us at school.


Signing In and Out

To ensure that the Health and Safety of all individuals within our school, all visitors (including supply teachers, work experience students and contractors are required to sign in at Main Reception using our E-Reception book before entering the school and sign out on their departure. All visitors will be given a visitors badge which must be worn at all times. Please return your badge to reception when you sign out.

Safeguarding and Child Protection – your role

DSL’s (Designated Safeguarding Leads) are trained in dealing with child abuse and safeguarding children. If you are worried or concerned about a child’s safety you can contact the schools DSL’s on 0116 2692083.

Operation Encompass

We are an Operation Encompass school which means that we work closely with the police who will share information about incidents that take place outside of school that may impact on our pupils. You can find more information on their website

If you are concerned about a child, anyone can contact the First Response Children’s Duty Team on 0116 305 0005 (24-hour phone line). 

Phone 999 if a crime is being committed or if a child is in imminent danger.

Contact Leicestershire police on 101 if you think a crime has been committed but there is no immediate danger.  


 Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL): Claire Elliott


Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL): Heather Creighton

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL): Rachel Lissaman